Contact the Knoxville, TN Lawyers at Stephens & DiRado, LLP.
Knoxville Juvenile Defense Attorneys
Protecting the Rights of Juvenile Offenders in Knox and Anderson Counties
Juvenile crimes are often charged differently than adult crimes. The age of the accused, the severity of the crime, and the defendant's prior criminal history are just a few of the factors that can affect how a juvenile crime is charged. If you or your child has been charged with a crime, you need to speak with an experienced juvenile defense attorney right away.
Contact Stephens & DiRado, LLP today at (855) 442-2817 to request your free consultation with our juvenile defense attorneys in Knoxville.
Juvenile Crime Charges in Tennessee
In Tennessee, a juvenile who is at least 12 years old and who has allegedly committed one of the following crimes can be charged as an adult:
- Aggravated murder
- Vehicular homicide
- Aggravated child abuse
- Aggravated child neglect
- Aggravated rape
- Aggravated sexual battery
- Aggravated kidnapping
In addition to being charged as an adult, a juvenile can also be required to be tried and sentenced as an adult if they are at least 13 years old and have been previously convicted of a felony or aggravated misdemeanor. Even if a juvenile is not charged as an adult, they can still face serious penalties, including incarceration, probation, fines, community service, or any combination of these.
It is nice to see these days. To my attorney: Thank you again for your hard work and working extra hard to ensure our ...- Moe M.
We recently worked with Attorney Melissa DiRado for a legal matter within the family. Melissa was very compassionate and ...- Smita B.
I am more than happy and most definitely satisfied with everything Mark Stevens has done for me. Has gone above and beyond ...- Dane G.
Attorney Melissa DiRado is exceptional. She understands the importance of taking careful steps in dealing with legal ...- Victor
If you are searching for a criminal lawyer who is not only highly skilled but also genuinely cares about her clients, look no ...- PG
Types of Penalties for Juvenile Crimes
The type of penalty a juvenile faces will depend on the severity of the crime and the defendant's prior criminal history. Generally, the more serious the crime, the harsher the penalty. For example, a juvenile who is convicted of a Class C misdemeanor faces a maximum penalty of 30 days in jail and a $50 fine. On the other hand, a juvenile who is convicted of a Class A misdemeanor faces a maximum penalty of 11 months and 29 days in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. A juvenile who is convicted of a felony faces a maximum penalty of 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $25,000.
In addition to jail time and fines, a juvenile who is convicted of a crime can also be required to pay restitution to the victim.